Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating

Left Nav S-B Home FAQ Members List S-B on Facebook Arcade WEAX Tides Buoys Calendar Today's Posts Right Nav

Left Container Right Container

Go Back   Striper Talk Striped Bass Fishing, Surfcasting, Boating » Build Stuff: Custom Plug & Lure Building, Rod Building » Plug Building - Got Wood?

Plug Building - Got Wood? Got Plug?

Old 01-11-2007, 08:02 AM   #1
Thumb-Burner

I can't cut straight with my bandsaw!!!

OK.. first, let's just say i'm a novice with power tools.. been using the lathe for about a year.. getting acceptable results... i've got most everything to a level of proficiency that i'm satisfied with EXCEPT the freakin' bandsaw..

here's the problem... i've tried to set it up just like the directions (which are lousy) say.. but i can't cut straight.. last night for example, i was cutting some AYC (2X2's) into lengths to be used on the lathe. no matter how slow i go, or how straight i try to keep things as i move the wood into the blade, the blade seems to torque to one side and make an angled cut... same when i'm trying to do lip slots..

it always turns to the same side... (my right) i've tightened the blade, loosened the blade, adjusted the little fiber blocks on each side of the blade... i'm about to go postal and throw it through the wall!! no wait... that's where my plugs are..

help!!!

I might be small.... but I'm slow.
Thumb-Burner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 08:04 AM   #2
afterhours
Afterhours Custom Plugs

i know that on my jet i had to adjust the blade for perfect cuts-pia, but worth it. get a test piece adjust- test- adjust - test 'till it's good.

www.afterhoursplugs.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Afterh...428173?created

Instagram - afterhourscustom

Official S-B.com Sponsor

GAMEFISH NOW

"A GAMEFISH (WHICH STRIPED BASS SHOULD BE) IS TOO VALUABLE TO BE CAUGHT ONLY ONCE"...LEE WULFF
afterhours is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 08:10 AM   #3
BigFish